June Blog Hop

Welcome to our June Blog Hop

To celebrate the new 2015-2016 annual catalog from Stampin’ Up, we decided to focus this month’s blog hop on Something New and Something Old.

I created this card with the By the Tides stamp set.   I used the new 2015-2017 in color – Tip Toe Taupe for stamping the sea-horse.  The ferns were stamped using Real Red.  I used Pacific Point to stamp both of the fish.  For the background mats I used Real Red, Pacific Point, and Whisper White card stock.  The greeting was stamped in Coastal Cabana.

Mascline Cards

 

The card below was made using the Celebrate Today stamp set, I used the star embossing folder for the background and colored them in with the 2015-2017 in color -Delightful Dijon.  I really like using these images and color combinations to create a more masculine card.  My husband, son, brother, and nephew all had birthdays in May so I was able to put these cards to good use.  Both of these stamp sets are in last year’s and in the new annual catalog so it’s not to late to order them. 🙂

 

Balloon Birthday

In preparation for Father’s Day.  I used the Wetlands stamp set. The stamp set is also featured in the new annual catalog.  The new aspect of this card is a new technique that I’ve learned called Bokeh.  I used a dauber starting with the darkest color (Pacific Point) and just made a series of random circles on the paper.  Then I used the medium blue (Tempting Turquoise) and purposely overlapped some of the original circles.  I followed that with a lighter blue (Sky Blue) and again made sure to overlap some the lighter circles with some of the darker circles.  Finally, I used Whisper White and made a few highlights to brighten some of the darker areas.  I also used a dauber to ink the sides of my second and third layers to make a border.  I have resisted inking the borders in the past but I really liked the effect it made on this card.

Happy Father's Day

 

 

Please leave some comments and make sure you visit the other card makers’ blog sites.  We hope this will provide you with some inspiration.

Susan

 

Fun & Crafty Blog Hop

Jennifer B. of Northwest Stamper

Tobe B. of The Craft Sea

Susan S. of Stampin’ By The SF Bay

Pam W. of Stinky Tofu

Sara G. of 1200 Some Miles

 

                                        
2 thoughts on “June Blog Hop

  1. Fabulous cards! I can’t resist inking the edges on many of my cards since it was one of the first techniques that I learned. The “By the Tide” stamp set is on my wish list, and I love the color combination on that card.

    Like

Leave a Reply

